Posted by: lifewithbs | March 30, 2010

Homemade Potato Chips

I love potato chips, but generally don’t let myself buy them because I’ll end up eating the whole bag. I had seen a recipe for super easy potato chips that you make in the microwave a while back, here. After getting a mandolin at my bridal shower, and seeing another recipe for homemade chips on Sweet Savory Life, I knew I had to give it a try.

And you know what? The recipe totally works! They’re really easy and fun to make, they taste great, and I imagine they’re much healthier for you since they aren’t fried or oily.

Homemade Potato Chips

recipe from Sweet Savory Life

1 russet potato

non-stick cooking spray

salt and pepper to taste (or whatever you want to use to flavor the chips)

parchment paper or a glass plate microwave.

The original recipe says to cut a piece of parchment paper to fit inside the microwave, and turn off the rotating option. I have NO IDEA how to do anything with my microwave besides turn it on and off, so I cut a piece of parchment paper to fit on the rotating glass plate.  Spray the parchment paper with non-cook spray.

Wash the potato! Then, carefully slice 1/3 of the potato into paper thin slices. You could use a knife, if you have skills, but a mandolin works perfectly. I put mine on the #1 setting.

Set the potato slices on the plate so they do not overlap.  Spray lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle with your seasonings.

Cook for 4 to 5 minutes. Cooking times vary depending on the strength of your microwave. Make sure to watch them carefully, people commenting on the other blog post said their potatoes burst into flames or their plates shattered.

Just don’t over cook, I kept an eye on them because I was worried about flaming chips, but had no trouble and took them out at 4 minutes. If you use a plate, make sure it is microwave safe!

One of my new favorite ways to eat chips is to dip them in cottage cheese. Yes, it sounds weird, but it’s actually quite good.  I would know absolutely nothing about cottage cheese if it was not for my good friend Kathleen who writes her own food blog called…. Chips and Cottage Cheese.  Check out her blog, and give it a try!

Responses

  1. The chips and Peruvian cookies look great! Can’t wait to get home and try them!

  2. Hahaha…im so happy I could introduce cottage cheese and chips to you!! I’m pretty pumped to try these chips out. Possibly sweet potatoes too??

  3. Now I have another use for cottage cheese, as I usually just eat it out of the container (maybe with some pickled Italian peppers—or peaches a very long time ago) Mom says she likes your chips recipe and is happy that you like your mandolin!

  4. PS – sweet potato and zucchini chips sound good too!!

    • Ooo zucchini chips sound delicious! I’m kind of scared to try any other vegetable, though, due to the warning about flaming potatoes.

      Dad, you should also try mixing in pineapple with cottage cheese. It also sounds really strange, but it’s refreshing!

  5. These chips look so fun! I will have to try it with cottage cheese. I’m impressed you also like meatloaf now. Do you like fish sticks too 😉 Just kidding!

    Kelly

    • Hahaha… No, I will NEVER eat fish sticks!!

  6. I made them. They did not blow up. And they were awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

