Posted by: lifewithbs | April 2, 2010

Meatloaf for one

It’s hard to figure out what to cook for myself now that Brett’s off in Peru and I’m cooking for one. When I saw this recipe in the ‘cooking for one’ section of Everyday Food I figured it was worth a shot. Meatloaf used to be my least favorite meals when I was growing up, but over the years I’ve grown to like it more and more.

Today, Brett was supposed to take a plane ride to see the Nazca Lines, and then was going on a dune buggy tour of some Peruvian sand dunes. Tomorrow, they’re visiting a nature preserve that has penguins. Um…..jealous! I hope he decides to come back to DC!

Anyways, I’ll definitely double this recipe and make it again once I’m no longer cooking for one!

Meatloaf

recipe from the April 2010 issue of Everyday Food

1 tablespoon plain panko breadcrumbs

2 teaspoons milk

1 tablespoon ketchup

2 tablespoons grated cheddar cheese

1 teaspoon onion, chopped fine

2 tablespoons finely grated carrott

salt and ground pepper

4 ounces ground beef (although I probably used 1/2 pound)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine the breadcrumbs, milk, ketchup, cheese, onion, carrot, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper.

Add the beef and combine gently. Transfer the mixture to a rimmed baking sheet (I sprayed with a little non-stick spray) and form into a mini-loaf.

Bake until cooked through, about 30 minutes. Ok, so this next picture looks pretty gross, and you can see I needed to combine the mix a bit better, but it really did taste delicious!

Izzy sure thought so. I gave her a little bit and she was all up in my face until I let her lick the plate 🙂

Responses

  1. MMMM I love meatloaf!! But where’s the red sauce!!! Give Izzy doot a kiss for me!

  2. I used to dread meatloaf dinners as a kid 🙂 Yours looks good — maybe you should double it and have leftovers the next day… Less effort that way…


Leave a Reply

Categories

