Posted by: lifewithbs | April 6, 2010

Rosemary Dinner Rolls

One of my goals for the next month is to make one bread item a week. Kind of a dorky goal, I know, but baking bread makes me happy.

This past week I made these rosemary dinner rolls, from the Pioneer Woman.  It was cheating a little bit, because I didn’t need to make the dough, but they were quite tasty!

Rosemary Dinner Rolls

recipe from the Pioneer Woman

Frozen, unbaked dinner rolls

Melted butter

Fresh rosemary, coarsely chopped

Sea salt

First you need to prepare the pan. PW says to use an iron skillet, but since I don’t have one (yet!) I used a cake pan. Spray with cooking spray, and put the dinner rolls in to thaw and rise.

Cover with a towel, and let rise for several hours. I had to put mine in a slightly warmed oven to get  them to double.

Once they’re ready, brush with melted butter and sprinkle with chopped rosemary and sea salt.

Bake according to package directions. For me it was 16 minutes at 400 degrees.

I can only imagine how good these would be with freshly made dough. Definitely will have to try it sometime!

I also made another rosemary bread, from scratch, but it did NOT turn out well. I set off the smoke alarm somehow (there was no smoke!) and it really freaked Izzy out. She ran around the apartment for an hour panting like crazy and shaking, I felt really badly. On top of it all, the bread didn’t even taste very good, so the whole thing was a bust. But, these rolls were great and overall this week’s bread ended up being a success.

Responses

  1. Those look really good! Peruvian food is good, but I definitely miss the home cookin!

    • If you get me a Peruvian cookbook I’ll do my best to replicate it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

