Posted by: lifewithbs | August 28, 2010

Baked Cherry Tomato Sauce

My sister sent me this recipe via email, with the suggestion that I try it out. She doesn’t often send me stuff to try, so I decided to give it a shot and am very glad I did. So, thanks Emily!

The original recipe called for fresh pasta, and homemade bread crumbs. Unfortunately, they do not have fresh fettuccine at my local Wal-Mart (UGH) and I didn’t want to have to drive to another grocery store, so I used dried pasta. It also called for homemade bread crumbs, but I was feeling lazy so just used Panko.

Next time, though, I will definitely make that extra stop and get fresh pasta, I think it would make this dish even better.

Baked Cherry Tomato Sauce

recipe from Smitten Kitchen

3-4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1 pound cherry tomatoes, halved

1/3 cup plain panko bread crumbs

1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1/4 cup loosely packed basil leaves, torn

Salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees, and grease a 13 x 9 baking dish with two tablespoons of the olive oil. Place the tomatoes cut-side up in the dish.

They look so pretty!

In a small bowl, combine the bread crumbs, cheese and garlic, and mix well. Spread the mixture over the tomatoes, making sure that each tomato is covered. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, and top with the remaining tablespoon of olive oil.

Bake until the tomatoes are cooked through and start to brown on top, about 20 minutes.

Mash the tomatoes with fork, and toss with cooked pasta. Top with basil and extra grated Parmesan.

In other news, we’ve both been pretty busy. I start my new job and fall semester classes next week. Brett just started a 16 day period where he has no days off… so that’s kind of a bummer. I’m going to bake cookies for the ER in the hopes they’ll give him at least 1 day off 🙂

The dogs are doing well, but last week we had a bit of a kitchen disaster. They were home alone during a thunderstorm, and they somehow opened the refrigerator and pulled out ALL of our food. I got home to one of the biggest messes I’ve ever seen! The whole kitchen floor was covered in milk, orange juice, baking soda, broken eggs, salad… it was gross. Everything needed to be replaced.

It hasn’t happened again, so I’m thinking it was just a fluke. Let’s hope so…

Responses

  1. Glad you liked the recipe! It was a great way for me to use up the TON of little tomatoes we received from the CSA.

    That is ridiculous that your dogs not only figured out how to open the fridge, but then emptied it out for you. They should have at least eaten everything up afterward so it didn’t all go to waste. If it happens again, you can probably find a childproofing do-dad to prevent kids (and dogs) from opening the fridge door.


Leave a Reply

Categories

