Posted by: lifewithbs | August 29, 2010

Buttermilk Drop Biscuits

I love to make breakfast on the weekends. During the week pretty much the only thing I’ll eat in the morning is a bowl of cheerios. However, when I have a bit more time I like to put on a pot of coffee and make something a little more complicated. Usually it’s french toast, but yesterday I made biscuits, sausage and eggs.

Buttermilk Drop Biscuits

recipe from The Best of America’s Test Kitchen 2009

2 cups (10 ounces) all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon sugar

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup cold buttermilk

8 tablespoons (1 stick) melted butter, cooled slightly

2 tablespoons melted butter for brushing biscuits after they come out of the oven

First, melt the butter. In order to make it melt quicker and more evenly, chop it into tablespoon-size pads and melt in a bowl in the microwave.

Adjust the oven rack to the middle position and preheat to 475 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.

By the way, my Silpat is one of my all-time favorite baking accessories. I use it for absolutely everything that goes on a baking sheet, it makes things so much easier!

Whisk the flour, baking power, baking soda, sugar and salt in a large bowl.

Combine the buttermilk and 8 tablespoons of melted butter in a medium bowl, stirring until the butter forms small clumps.

This step is actually the “secret” to this recipe. The Test Kitchen says that the clumps of butter turn to steam in the oven and help guarantee a light and fluffy biscuit interior.

Add the buttermilk mixture to the dry ingredients and stir with a rubber spatula until just incorporated.

Using a greased 1/4 cup dry measuring cup, scoop a level amount of batter and drop onto the baking sheet. Space the biscuits 1 1/2 inches apart. The original recipe says that you’ll get 12 biscuits, but I only got 9.

Bake until the tops are golden brown and crisp, abut 12 to 14 minutes.

After taking the biscuits out of the oven, brush with the remaining two tablespoons of melted butter. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool five minutes before serving.

I made two mistakes while preparing this recipe. The first was that I brushed the biscuits with butter BEFORE putting them in the oven. Don’t ask me why… I hadn’t had coffee yet and I’m not quite sure why that made sense to me. The second was that I forgot to press start on the timer. I was worried about burning and probably took them out of the oven too soon. But, they didn’t taste under-cooked and were still really, really good… the perfect compliment to sausage and eggs.

I’ll leave you with a picture of one of my kitchen helpers.

Responses

  1. I love waking up to breakfast!! Oh and Izzy is going to become jealous if you keep including Rowdy and not her in your posts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

