Posted by: lifewithbs | October 23, 2010

Turkey Burgers

I really should be studying, but am in a procrastinating-type of mood tonight. So, here is a recipe for turkey burgers that I’ve been meaning to post for a long time. This is the burger Brett and I used to make all the time when we were back in DC and didn’t have a grill. They’re surprisingly tasty considering how they are cooked on a skillet indoors.

Seasoned Turkey Burgers

not sure where I got this recipe from. Somewhere on the interwebs!

1 1/2 pounds ground turkey

1 (1 ounce) package dry onion soup mix

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 egg, lightly beaten

hamburger buns

In a large bowl, mix the onion soup packet, pepper, garlic, soy sauce and egg all together. Add the turkey and mix well.

Ok, I was going to add a picture… but … it looks really gross. The first time we made these, we almost threw out the meat mixture because it looked so… unappetizing.  I know this doesn’t sound a like a ringing endorsement for these burgers, but you’ll have to just trust me. They’re good, even if you prefer beef burgers.

Moving on.

Preheat non-stick skillet with medium-high heat.

Refrigerate the mixture for about 10 minutes, and then form into 5 patties (4 normal sized, 1 for the dogs)

Place the patties on the grill and cook for 20 minutes, turning once, until well done.

The burgers are done when they are whitest on the inside. Fix up the burgers however you like, and enjoy! I think they’re best with melted cheese and avocado.

Responses

  1. These sound yummy! Nick would definitely be into the turkey burgers. I made PW Chili tonight (the one from your blog) for the therapeutic social skills group I’m doing with some of my 6-8 year old patients. I need some easy casserole ideas that kids will eat, but parents will still like. I did easy baked ziti last week. Any thoughts of meals…send my way! xoxo Miss you!

  2. We’ll have to make these when you are in CT later this year. I still remember the chicken chili we made several years back..and wouldn’t mind having some of that again too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

