Posted by: lifewithbs | November 28, 2010

Homemade Pasta

Happy belated Thanksgiving! Gobble gobble and all that.

We had a pretty quiet turkey day this year. This is only the second Thanksgiving that I’ve spent away from my family, and I have to say I don’t like it a bit. The first time was while attending college in Canada, where they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving at the same time of year. At the time I was involved in a big group project, and just couldn’t take the time off to go home. Bummer!

This year was a bit better. We did get in some family time, as Brett’s family came to visit the weekend before T-day. I made ham, mashed potatoes, stuffing, dinner rolls, a glaze for the ham, pumpkin pie… and somehow it all turned out alright! Nothing was burnt, so I consider my fist time cooking for eight people on my own a success.

Needless to say, I am really looking forward to going home to Connecticut for Christmas. Two whole weeks at home, full of family time, seeing old friends, cooking, eating and shopping… can’t wait!

Ok, so this is not a Thanksgiving related recipe, but that’s alright. I have been wanting to try making my own pasta for a while now, and when I saw semolina flour at the store I just had to buy it. Next time we’ll have to roll out the dough a bit thinner… or maybe use a pasta roller.

Basic Pasta Recipe

from the Bob’s Red Mill semolina flour bag

3/4 cup semolina flour

3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs, beaten

2 tablespoons water

2 tablespoons olive oil

Combine the flours and the salt. Add the beaten eggs, water and olive oil. Mix to make a stiff dough.

Knead the dough for 10 minutes, or until it is elastic.

Wrap dough with a towel, and let it sit for about 20 minutes.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out to desired thickness and cut as desired. I used our pizza cutter to make noodles.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil, and add half a teaspoon of olive oil. Add the pasta a cook until tender, about 3 to 4 minutes.

And yes, we did have corn on the side, which I agree is a bit odd. Sometimes you just really need to go to the store and have run out of more appropriate options for a side dish 🙂

Responses

  1. Pasta looks good! Pasta plus corn looks funny 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

